Water Aerobics Adventures

The pool at the Joint Forces Training Base, Los Alamitos, CA

The pool at the Joint Forces Training Base, Los Alamitos, CA

Now don’t get me wrong. I LOVE my water aerobics class on Saturday mornings. But when I barely slept last night because of the extreme heat (it was 90 degrees in my bedroom at 2:30 a.m.), plus my partner in crime, Becky, wasn’t able to go to class, I almost skipped class. Yep, I darn near rolled over and went back to sleep.

Do you know how I talked myself into going? Because of this blog. I wanted to post about my deep water aerobics class, but in order to do that, I actually had to GO. So I did. See, writing this blog is already making me more accountable. Imagine that!

JFTB Naturally, I had to have two mornin’ cups of Joe, which helped pry my eyelids open. Then I had two hard-boiled, cage-free eggs with a small piece of toast, a glass of ice cold water, and I was off to class.

I got to class a little late. But my left knee went wonky the minute I got out of my car in the parking lot, and it’s impossible to hurry while limping. When I finally joined the class, they had just started to do a rowing lap across the pool. Once at the other side of the pool, we had to do 5 pull-ups, 10 donkey kicks, and 20 crisscrosses. Then we were supposed to row back.

Rowing works your abs and arms at the same time. You’re on your back, with your head sticking out of the water, your knees crunched up and your toes out of the water. Then you move your arms underwater to propel you either forwards or backwards.

The class started off ahead of me, but soon I was out in front. As the instructor said, “You left them in the dust.” I grinned. Competitive much? Moi?

We had to do four laps of rowing. I finished so quickly that I still had ample time to do the exercises I had missed while I waited for the rest of the class to catch up.

It was a good class today. It certainly hadn’t been easy to do some of the exercises when I first started going to water aerobics in late June, but now that my core is much stronger, that’s all changed.

We’re not going to have class next Saturday because of a swim meet. Good thing I went to class today in time to hear the announcement, otherwise I would have shown up next week, wearing my swimsuit. Boy, would I have been embarrassed and confused!

Oh, and guess what? I’ve lost another pound. That makes 32 lbs. so far! Woot!

Leave a Reply

