Let’s Have a Pumpkin Spice Latte! No-??

Now that fall is here, doesn’t a Starbucks pumpkin spice latte (aka PSL) sound good? Well, sure it does. But am I going to drink even one this fall? That would be a big, fat NO!

But why not? OK, it’s got a whipped topping on there, so sure, it’s not exactly diet friendly. But why not just have one? Just have a cheat day and then get right back to eating clean and healthy the following day. Right?

image

Wrong. It’s because I’m not going to risk my health for a drink that has 50 grams of sugar. 5-0. My teeth practically fell out of my head when I read this in a Yahoo! Health article.

50 grams of sugar is the maximum amount of sugar I’m supposed to have in an entire day. So if I drank that PSL, it would mean I can’t eat any fruit, milk, yogurt, add half and half to my coffee, have a bowl of cereal… nothing, for the entire day! And that would be bad enough if that was the only issue.

The real problem is what happens to your body when it’s suddenly flooded with 50 grams of sugar and 14 grams of (unhealthy) fat, all in one shot. That’s when it gets all too real and all too scary.

Yahoo’s graphic, shown below, illustrates exactly why having a Starbucks pumpkin spice latte is a lousy idea for anyone interested in health. I highly recommend watching this Yahoo! Health video about the The Perils of PSL.

image

So, whenever I get that hankering for a PSL, pumpkin pie, pumpkin bread, or anything else pumpkin that’s mixed with way too much fat and sugar, I’m going to indulge in the limited edition of Chobani’s Pumpkin Spice Blended Low-fat Greek yogurt. It’s got 12 grams of sugar, 3 grams of fat, 12 grams of protein, 15 grams of carbs, 40% vitamin A, and 15 % Calcium. Not too shabby, eh?

For me, this is a choice that’s a no-brainer. I’m going for the Chobani Pumpkin Spice Blended Greek yogurt and eschewing the PSL, every time. After all, I still get to indulge in one of my favorite seasonal flavors and remain guilt free. And that’s a win-win in my book, any day.

image

12 thoughts on “Let’s Have a Pumpkin Spice Latte! No-??

  1. jncthedc says:

    Congratulations on recognizing that improving the quality of one’s life is only too late once we leave this planet. I have commented on many blogs similar to yours and understand the challenges and complexities that accompany your goals. Knowing that people (who have never even met you) care enough to help you succeed to achieve your goals should inspire you. Health is my passion and purpose in life. I am not one who pushes my blog site in front of others, but I believe you may find it insightful and helpful to achieve your goals. You can find it at: https://AllAboutHealthyChoices.wordpress.com.
    If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask. Wishing you continued success on your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fithotbod says:

      Oh, thanks! It’s actually helpful for me to blog about my journey. I was so tired last Saturday morning, that I almost didn’t go to my water aerobics class. But I had planned to blog about it, so this gave me the needed push to go. It’s just another form of accountability. And having the encouragement of others is helpful too. I’ll check out your blog.

      Liked by 1 person

    • fithotbod says:

      I have a question… Someone blogged about going into ketosis and trying to eat hardly any carbs. I commented that my belief is that going into ketosis is harmful, and that my preference is to follow the Mediterranean diet… 40% carbs, 30% protein, 30% healthy fat. What’s your personal take on that? Thanks.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. jncthedc says:

    There is a difference between ketosis and ketoacidosis.

    Ketosis (for a normally healthy person with a healthy pancreas) is a controlled regulated insulin process releasing small amounts of fatty acids and ketones into the blood for desired fuel for the body in response to low carbohydrate intake. This mechanism changes the primary metabolic pathway from sugar fuel to fat fuel. Under normal conditions, this produces no danger to the body.

    Ketoacidosis on the other hand is very dangerous condition. If the insulin response is insufficient to manage fatty acids and ketones these products create a change in the body’s PH range (too acidic) that can lead to death.

    It seems that high protein diets have created a fear of carbohydrates. I choose to eat a higher range of proteins in my diet based on my lifestyle and physical needs. My protein intake is about 35%-40%; my carbohydrate between 35-45%, and my fat between 20-30%. My carbohydrates are primarily mixed vegetables, some fruit, quinoa, cous cous, sweet potatoes, lentils and black beans. I love pasta and sweets, but eat them sparingly. Quality of life is more important to me than gustatory satisfaction.

    I also think the Mediterranean Diet is a healthy diet and appropriate in macro-nutrient distribution. I always add, the best diet is one that provides all essential nutrients AND one people can remain SUCCESSFULLY on FOREVER!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

