Love You For You!

imageWhen I was a teen, I compared myself to other, smaller-boned girls and to models, and I always came up wanting. When one of my nieces was in grammar school, she used to grab her thighs and proclaim herself fat. I would stare at her in dismay because she was a pretty little girl with a lithe body. She didn’t have an ounce of extra fat on her. How do you convince her that she’s not fat?? Luckily, she grew up with a decent body image.

But I didn’t. And that messes with your life. So here I am, many years later, and I’m reclaiming my life. I’m exercising to lose weight and to increase muscle. I’m exercising to lower cholesterol and to help lower my blood glucose levels. People should mainly be exercising to increase strength and mobility, to be the fittest that they can be, and increase longevity, not to try to look like some model’s picture in a magazine that’s been Photoshopped. Everyone’s body is different. Some will get washboard abs, but most won’t.

But that’s OK. Just be the healthiest and fittest YOU can be. And do it for yourself and nobody else.

5 thoughts on “Love You For You!

  1. mawil1 says:

    I think that image motivates people because you can see how they look, but you only know how it feels to be strong and able once you have done it! Before I started running the walk from the car park to my office carrying a couple of bags used to be hard work and I woul puff up the stairs. It’s so lovely to be able to walk and not feel tired, to feel your muscles holding you upright. I didn’t know what I was missing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • fithotbod says:

      Oh, that’s so true. I had gotten so out of shape that I was puffing when I walked. My sister and a friend thought I was having lung problems. Nope. That wasn’t it. Now when I go to the gym, I feel kinda tough, like I could kick some ass. I couldn’t (yet) but I like that feeling of empowerment. It’s so nice to be able to move. That’s why this torn meniscus bothered me so much. But it’s temporary until after my surgery.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

