Don’t Let Life Get You Down

challenges

Challenges can be overwhelming, but the best approach is to roll with the punches and figure out how to overcome obstacles.

We all face challenges in our daily life, but it’s our mindset that has the biggest influence on the outcome. And yep, it’s NOT always easy. But once you make up your mind and become determined to reach a certain goal, your life often changes for the better.

I’ve lost 16% of my body weight so far, despite the challenges I’ve faced lately with my lack of mobility and the fact that Thanksgiving and my birthday were in the same week. Ooh, plus a friend invited me to be his date at a dinner the other night, which was a lot of fun.

The encouraging news is that I STILL lost 9 lbs. in 30 days, even after eating those three amazing meals. All three dinners included dessert, and one of the meals included wine. I just made good choices and logged everything in the app, My Fitness Pal.

Isn’t it great to know that losing weight during the holidays, and without feeling deprived, can be a reality?

I haven’t been blogging much lately because my left knee totally gave out on me not too long ago. My active lifestyle came to a dead stop. I even had a couple of days of crushing depression because of it.

My knee improved after my physical therapist taped it the day before Thanksgiving. The tape stayed on for 6 days, and it really helped. I can finally put weight on that leg again and straighten it when I’m lying down, but I have to keep the knee bent when I walk.

Sadly, the limping is throwing off my gait and putting a huge strain on my back. It’s also exhausting to walk that way.

I won’t know more until I go to my ortho surgeon to get my MRI results next Wednesday. The surgery will be scheduled then, likely for sometime in January.

Another big problem is that I stopped all exercise because of my knee and car problems. I’m determined to go back to water aerobics class this Saturday, baring any unforeseen problems like rain or the car becomes undriveable. So even though the morning will be cold, the outdoor pool is heated.

Hopefully, I’ll fight the desire to stay snuggled under the covers early Saturday morning and that the weather won’t be a deterrent. I really need to go to water aerobics because I can tell I’m losing strength and stamina. My goal is to strengthen my core, which will help relieve my low back pain immensely.

Today was a breakthrough; I actually went grocery  shopping. Unfortunately, it left me exhausted and sweating. I felt as weak as a kitten trying to maneuver that heavy cart up and down those aisles.

You try pushing a grocery cart with your left side, limping, hunched over the cart, with a cane in your right hand. It doesn’t frickin’ WORK!

So those are two of my personal challenges. I need to have knee surgery done in early January, get through the 4-6 weeks of recovery, and buy a new car. And then start going back to physical therapy.

The good news is that PT for my rotator cuff issues has also been approved. So I can make the PT appointments once I figure out all the necessary logistics.

I’d love to hear about some of your personal challenges and what steps you’re taking to overcome them. We can all help each other obtain our goals. Wouldn’t that be fantastic?

UPDATE: December 18, 2016

Wow. Someone just liked this post on my blog from a year ago. Reading it brings back so many memories. After I wrote this, I was forced to use those electric carts in the store. But even those left me sweating and exhausted. That’s how difficult life was back then. And it made me realize how all that made my back issues worse. I found it interesting how I was still losing weight quickly then, but it all slowed to a crawl immediately following surgery. I’m eating about 1200 calories or so per day now, and I’m lucky if I lose one pound. Grrrr. However, I’ve persevered and have lost 67 lbs. I never did PT for my rotator cuff. Probably better I didn’t cuz it turned out that my rotator cuff has disintegrated and I need surgery. Major shoulder surgery is scheduled for January 6. 

Leave a Reply

