Where You Get Your Protein Is Important 

Eating an apple can help curb your cravings for sweets.

This article addresses why getting too much protein from animal sources, especially high-fat sources, bacon and anything processed with nitrates, is harmful. And fructose (not the kind that’s added into processed foods but the kind that is naturally occurring in fruits and vegetables) may have some benefits.

I’ve been logging my food into My Fitness Pal for over 600 days and have found that my sugar intake is often over 50g. But my only source of added sugars is from breakfast cereals, bread, jam, plus a teaspoon of sugar that I add to my mug of herbal tea that I drink at night. I strive to buy the healthier cereals, I try to limit myself to two slices of bread/day because of the need to restrict carbs and calories, and I just add a dab of jam to my PB. The main source of my dietary sugar comes from fruits, veggies, and dairy.

I always strive to eat more veggies than fruit, I get my protein from varied sources such as beans, legumes, dairy (especially Greek yogurt), eggs, some chicken, and once in awhile, salmon.

If you’re on a budget, eating primarily vegetarian really stretches your food budget. I have to be careful not to over-consume beans and lentils, however, because of the high amounts of carbs and calories, both of which are detrimental especially for someone who had been pre-diabetic. I’ve reversed it, but once your body becomes insulin resistant as mine was, I believe that insulin resistance is something you always have to guard against by limiting carbs and calories.

In comparing black beans to split peas, lentils, and great northern beans, I’ve found that black beans win hands down. Black beans are lower in carbs and calories. Guess I’ll be buying more black beans again. My weight loss has stalled since my surgery, and I’ve got to get it going again.

I’d be interested in hearing from y’all about any healthy weight loss tips!

Leave a Reply

